Clive Barker

Clive Barker - Abarat Tagline

The Abarat Series

In 1995 Clive began painting huge dream-images which were wholly unlike his previous paintings. He began to think of them as the illustrations for a collection of 25 tales; a 'Book of Hours' which would describe all the emotions of a day, hour by hour (with an extra, mystical 25th hour).
The Book Of Hours became a whole world - The Abarat - and as the paintings kept coming, so the story grew and grew into a series of four, and then five books...

The first volume - called simply Abarat - was published in October 2002 and the second volume - Abarat : Days of Magic, Nights of War - followed in September 2004, with both volumes spreading across the world in foreign language editions. Abarat: Absolute Midnight was published in September 2011.
The paperback edition of Absolute Midnight was released in the UK on 11 October 2012

Click on the images below to find out more!

Clive Barker - Abarat - Book One Clive Barker - Abarat - Book Two - Days of Magic, Nights of War Clive Barker - Abarat - Book Three - Absolute Midnight

Clive is still painting and the canvases for Books Four and Five are currently filling up his house.

The revised edition of Beneath the Surface includes new material from the latest volume of Clive Barker’s Abarat – Absolute Midnight. Featuring Clive’s work-in-progress illustrations for all three volumes, this full-colour edition also looks at Clive's writing and painting styles and features an extended, in-depth interview with Clive done by a classroom of young Abarat readers. This edition also now includes an updated glossary and hints of what is yet to come in the final books of Abarat...

Beneath the Surface of Clive Barker's Abarat

Available on the iBookstore from 1 March 2012 at £5.99 / $8.99

Beneath the Surface of Clive Barker's Abarat

UK store ~ US store

And on YUDU from 7 March 2012 at £5.99

Clive Barker - Abarat 3, Absolute Midnight

Watch the Abarat Absolute Midnight trailer here now!

More detail on Books Four and Five of the Abarat series can be found by clicking on the image below.

Clive Barker - Abarat - Books Four and Five

Abarat has now been published in over 40 countries - click the globe to see how different it can look...

Clive Barker - Abarat - foreign editions

Clive has invented an entire world in writing Abarat - and everything needs a name!
Do you know your Waztrill from your Juffet Bird? Can you remember Candy's middle name? Or what Prince Quiffin or Legitimate Eddie look like?
Worry not and click on the words below, for the Abaratian Lexicon holds the answers!

Clive Barker - Abarat - a lexicon

Where is when? Can you remember which island is at which hour..? Here is your key to the islands:

Clive Barker - Abarat - key to the islands

Clive Barker - Abarat - Excerpt Clive Barker - Abarat II - Excerpt Clive Barker - Abarat III - Excerpt

Clive Barker - Abarat - Clive's art from Books 1, 2 and 3 Clive Barker - Abarat - Clive's art from Books 4 to 5 Clive Barker - Abarat - Clive's work-in-progress sketchbook

Clive Barker - Abarat - Wallpaper Clive Barker - Abarat - Teaching Resources and Artwork Clive Barker - Abarat-inspired Art

The Beautiful Moment - Home page

This page has been created for information and entertainment purposes only. All quotes remain the copyright of the original owners.